Serial Trainer











{July 29, 2008}   the bodybugg

I worked for 24 Hour Fitness, here in Houston, for a couple of years before I decided to go back to school. I loved this club because they endorse education in their trainers but also in their members. As a trainer, I was allowed to give my member a well balanced workout and on top of that, I was privy to the Apex company.

Apex has a piece of equipment called the BodyBugg and it’s won several awards. I highly recommend that if you’re willing to spend $2-300 on any other program/diet fad/trainer, etc, that you research this piece of equipment.

As big as an MP3 player that straps to your arm, this device tells you an accurate, detailed account of how many calories you burn during the day. Smarter than a pedometer, you can’t just walk, jump or wiggle in place to make it think you’re taking steps per day. You actually have to move.

It designs a workout program for you, lets you put your meals in, edit your weight and measurements and reminds you of how many calories you have left to eat in your daily regimen based on your goals.

I scream praises about it because I’ve seen first hand, not only in myself, but in the people I have trained and recommended to friends to use..amazing results. The best part is? They did it themselves. There were no expensive gym memberships. No expensive trainers (not that hiring a trainer is bad, most especially if you are just starting out!!!). No crazy menus.

You eat what you want, when you want. And if you need help? Guess what. They even include sample menus for you!

A lot of websites are promoting doing the same thing but you don’t get the actual device that you wear daily. Most of us don’t even know how many calories we actually burn doing a day. Based on a 2,000 calorie diet, most of us are gaining weight exponentially because we do not move enough to burn that many calories a day!

The average person burns 700-1600 calories a day. You do the math.

If anyone out there has used or plans on using the bodybugg, let me hear from you!!

Ron says:

So is it waterproof? Can you wear it in the rain or in the shower, or if you’re like me, when you work out? (I sweat profusely.)



serialtrainer says:

You cannot wear it in the shower and although you can wear it when you sweat (even profusely) you should avoid getting the outside wet. I would keep it safe from rain, as well. They are constantly working on upgrades so who knows? We might get a waterproof model out next for swimmers!



anomoly says:

I’ve talked to the folks at bodybugg, they were telling me that V3 will be coming out soon, it will be more sleak and waterproof, although you still cant go swimming or in the shower with it.

Im going to wait for Version 3 and then jump if the price is right…

http://www.anomoly.wordpress.com



themusingsofamom says:

I have used the bodybugg for almost a year now and I wouldn’t spend a day without it!! I recommend it to everyone and anyone that wants to lose weight. I don’t “do” diets and I hate being told what I can and can’t eat. I love the BB!!!



Debbi Russell says:

Most of my exercise is done in the pool, since recovering from a horrific motorcycle accident.
I need a waterproof version. Any idea if this is possible.



serialtrainer says:

Hi Debbie! I’m not sure if the next version of the bodybugg is waterproof but I’ll see what I can do in finding out. I do know, however, that you can log in the activity and the amount of time you do that activity and it will estimate to a good degree about how many calories (based off your current stats of weight, height, etc) you are burning. I hope that helps and thanks for visiting.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
