Serial Trainer











{July 31, 2008}   a spot o’tea

One of the most relaxing moments of my day, is the first thing when I wake up. I have one of those nifty Ozarka coolers and I snag my “happy” cup, a teabag filled with herbal tea and push that handy red lever so that I don’t have to sit, blurry eyed at my table and wait for a shrill whistle of a kettle.

I like to tell my clients to drink Herbal teas because of that same aesthetic quality but also because a lot of them say they don’t like water.

Now let me just break here to tell you that I do not endorse not drinking water. And for those of you that claim you don’t like water? What’s there to /not/ like?! It’s tasteless..well..bottled water is! If you’re sensitive like myself, you can taste the chlorine and other gunk in tap water.

For those clients that say, “I don’t like water” I offer another alternative. Squeeze a lemon in it.

But herbal tea is also a good alternative once you’ve gotten your daily water consumption down, or at least close to it. If the client (or you) are working your way up to 96 oz, this is a great way to make sure that you get there without realizing you’re getting there.

Green Tea is a great tea because it containsand is rich in catechin polyphenols, particularly epigallocatechin gallate (EGCG). I won’t include the long list of benefits from EGCG but I’ll provide the link to wikipedia so you can start there and research it on your own.

Green tea has been used by the Chinese since ancients times. It’s cures knew no bounds and included things like; Depression, headaches, infections, and heart issues. It’s being researched in a long line of things to help alleviate, if not cure, certain ailments. Don’t misunderstand this post, however, and start using Green Tea as a medicine and excuse not to see your doctor. I know some crazy people out there will do it, so don’t.

Green Tea and other herbal teas have qualities that will help you relax. And it may be just the thing you need to help you in a stressful day or to go to sleep. Most importantly, it’s your little time out to pamper yourself.

It’s my opinion that herbal teas also have a cleansing effect on the body. You don’t need to (and I don’t recommend) buying teas that say “Cleansing Tea”.  The herbal teas already have those effects. There are too many to list in this post, so I’ll include a link to NutraSanus and Tea Infusion which includes a nice list of them.

The best thing about herbal teas is that you can drink them hot or cold. And they’re fun to experiment with. Mixing flavors and coming up with recipes has been one of the things I love to do. It’s also an inexpensive alternative to diet sodas, juices, and other drinks (except water of course!) that we are buying now. Not to mention, less calories and better for you!

So pull up a lawn chair, don your best wide brimmed hat, put your feet up and enjoy the last of the summer days with a nice cup of tea!

the written content on this article is really one particular of the most beneficial substance that We have at any time arrive throughout. I adore your article, I will occur back again to examine for new posts.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
