Serial Trainer











{August 1, 2008}   Workout for Thighs

Walking Lunges are by far my favorite exercise for the lower body and for getting that heart rate up. So here is the exercise, described in detail for you. As always, please consult a physician before performing any exercises.

Body parts worked: Rectus Femoris, Thigh, Hamstrings, Quadricep, Calf, Gastrocnemius, Lower Body

How to perform the exercise: To begin a walking lunge stand upright with or without weights in your hands. Keep your shoulders over your hips and engage your core by drawing your navel toward your spine. Now take a lunge forward while never letting your knee go past the toe of the leg in front. Once at the bottom of the lunge (not touching the floor), push off with the back foot and then approach the standing position. Repeat with the other leg. Make sure to breath out on the way up and breathe in on the actual lunge.

 

Lunges are ok for beginners, but when your ready to graduate, you need to get into kettlebell training. It will blow your mind and body. I’ve been using them for about a year and 1/2 so far and I can’t get enough of them.

The UPS guy hates my guts though every time he shows up with another shipment for my new kettlebells…

If you want any info on kettlebells or other training info, you can reach me at holisticwellnessnetwork.com

My email is at the bottom of every page.



serialtrainer says:

Kettle balls are awesome when you’ve mastered lunges, I agree!



Have you ever tried jumping rotation lunges using a medicine ball? They are my favorite type of heavy duty lunges.

John
holisticwellnessnetwork.com



serialtrainer says:

Holy cow, I bet that’s a killer workout. I’m going to try it..if I don’t come back, blame John.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
