Serial Trainer











{September 12, 2008}   Wanted: More Hours in the Day

Hello, everyone!  I have not died, I promise. This semester of school has been crazy. I’m not exactly complaining because I like having a lot to do, but man it eats up my time. This week I have a Psych test, Math test, Biology test and a paper due. Now, I understand why they look at me crazy when I tell them I took 16 credit hours. None the less, I’m here and I am indeed alive, bracing for the hurricane. So what better way to pass my time than to update this site!?

The topic today is time. A mom of four rambunctious boys, I know the meaning of wishing for more hours in the day. To update you guys, I start with Lorenzo on Tuesday. I’m very excited. I’ll finally have “me time” where I don’t have take care of the world and myself. Someone else can take care of me for a change. After 15 years, I’m not sure I know how that works anymore.

I really need the outlet, too. I wanted to post about this because I really do know where you guys are coming from when you think you have no time. Trust me on this subject. I am trying to organize everything, just to get that time, and I’m learning to say, “no”.

Sometimes it’s more important to say, “no” than it is to say “yes”. You have to remember that people can and will survive without your help (sometimes, this does not apply to invalids/children and the like). Husbands and significant others can do things for themselves. Even children should be doing things for themselves (like cleaning) and if they don’t, you might want to focus on fixing that issue, first.

Consistency is the key to anything in life. You can make or break habits and it’ll take most of your time at first until it falls into place. Once it does, you will have a more stress free life. Don’t tackle things in one day. Take one day at a time and break larger projects down into parts. This is what has kept my sanity, all this time.

I used to try and do it all at once until I realized that if I’m unhappy, how can anyone else around me be happy? They can’t. And my health is too important to me to allow other people to impose on it. People, for the most part, have a survival mechanism. Sometimes it’s worn down but remember, if you’re the person willing to do more for someone else than yourself? There’s people out there willing to take advantage of it. And it doesn’t matter to them if you’re withering away.

Learn when you are more important than doing the dishes, cleaning the bathroom, mowing the lawn, laundry. It’ll still be there (believe me…it will) when you get back.

Rachael says:

Thanks for the information…I bookmarked your site, and I appreciate your time and effort to make your blog a success!



Amen to that post, especially the last two paragraphs. They were really helpful to me.

Thanks!



serialtrainer says:

Thank you both for stopping by, it’s very encouraging to see that people are listening =) It makes posting that much more fun! I have so much going on right now, but making time for ME has been keeping my sanity. I don’t know how anyone else does it, to be honest. Kudos to all the parents that find time to handle kids, work and time for themselves!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
