Serial Trainer











{September 20, 2008}   Serial Trainer Vs. Ike

It was, without a doubt, a rough storm.  I’m very thankful and grateful that I did not get hit hard and at the same time, I feel badly for those that are still without power and who have suffered a huge amount of loss due to this hurricane.

Hurricane Ike pounded Houstonians into what looked like a war zone, but I want to tell you something.  I’ve seen such resilience in this city that I cannot explain in words.  It is something you cannot experience until you’ve been through it and seen it first hand.  Houston did not lie down

The day after the hurricane, people were outside, assessing damage and cleaning up ready to start the day as if it was just “another storm”.  I stared in awe.  I’ve never seen a block of people, walk outside, see trees down and windows blown, just shrug and get to work.  It was a sight that brought strength inside of me in one of those weird, sappy moments.

On that note….I started with my trainer, Lorenzo, on Tuesday.  I hadn’t done much besides long walks at night because of school starting and I didn’t have a working car.  So, no excuse to be had, I kept my eating light and my cardio usually consisted of walking my poor, small legged, half-Chow, half-Shepard, half-pint dog, Diesel.

I can tell you now, that Lorenzo honed in on my weaknesses like a true predator..er I mean, trainer, and got to work. The next day I could not walk without cursing him ..and then blessing him.  Please refer to my post on the humor page about the “Cat Scratch”.  I’m convinced he’s trying to break me.  And he almost has! 

Alas, he is Apollo and I am Rocky.  The dumb guy that keeps coming back for more beatings, screaming, “Ain’t so bad!”  And yes.  He pummels me some more.  But I know in the end, I will look great, so it’s all worth it.

He said to make sure I tell you guys the truth so no one else comes in thinking he’s nice.  Uh — He’s not nice.  He smiles.  But he’s not nice.  He’s a monster.  And I love him =)  Thanks Lorenzo.  For all of you that want to get your ass kicked, too.  He’s at the 24 Hour Fitness location on Dairy Ashford and Westheimer.  Bring water. Lots of it. And skip Gatorade. *ahem*

 

Leave a Reply

et cetera
