Serial Trainer











{October 15, 2008}   Scale Wars: The Trainer Strikes Back

I thought I’d do something about the scale today and I’ll explain why.  Like everyone else, trainers have issues with the scale.  No really, it’s true.  As superhuman as people think we are, there are days when we look down at the scale, scream and flail while cursing obscenities at it.  It seems to defy logical thinking to believe that you can be getting slimmer, while the scale continues to say you’ve not changed your weight at all. 

A funny little story — I weighed in last week and kept telling Lorenzo, “I haven’t lost any weight.”  He made me face away from the numbers on the scale while he weighed me and lo and behold, on HIS scale, I lost weight.  He said, “What’s wrong with your scale?”  and I had laugh.  I finally had an excuse to say, “My scale lies!”

The truth is, you can lose fat and not lose weight.  Let this sink in because it’s going to be vital to your sanity.  With all the media hype about being a size 0 and having a weight in the double digits, we (mostly women, but some men too!) will become obsessed with a scale weight.

In High School it became a real problem for me.  I was the same age/height as Alyssa Milano and she only weighed 95lbs.  I couldn’t get below 108.  I was always exercising trying to get my weight down until I got a job working for the health club and learned how to be healthy.  What scares me is that, had I not gotten that job?  I might have been in a lot of trouble.  The inspiration for me to keep going?  To make sure that no other girl has to go through that. 

I don’t want to see anyone go through the pain of staring down at the scale and thinking they’ve failed.  Look at your body. Look at your clothes and how they fit.  LISTEN to friends and family who say you’re losing or looking great. 

Embed it into your mind: Muscles weighs more than fat.  And you need that lean muscle to kick start your metabolism and to burn more calories.  The more lean muscle mass you have, the more calories you burn sitting around doing NOTHING. 

I like sitting around doing nothing!  It’s a rare moment when it happens. Knowing that my body will continue to work even when I’m not, makes me feel much better.  I don’t need to look like Arnold or Triple H — I can still be nicely toned, healthy and lean while still being efficient at the Calorie vs Fat war.

I was able to fix a huge obsession with the scale but others are still battling it. When I weigh myself, it’s just to keep myself in check.  I know that 1-2 lb fluctuation is due to minute things like water weight, etc.  But if I go higher than that, I know I need to keep a tighter reign on my calorie and water intake.  I don’t really care anymore what the scale says, I just want to look good on the outside and maintain a healthy body on the inside.

If I can do all that and my scale weight never changes, I’ll be okay with it.  And you should be, too!

 

Leave a Reply

et cetera
