Serial Trainer











{February 26, 2010}   Rezzing the Dead

SO…yeah you guessed it. Life got crazy and I was away for a bit. However, I am not dead..I know I keep saying that but rest assured I am healthy and alive.

One of the things I really wanted to post on here was a little issue we all need to address and it pertains to myself as well so it makes it easy to talk about: Stress.

Stress is a killer. I don’t care how well you eat, how much you work out. If you’re under a lot of stress and don’t take time to decompress, you will only be skating uphill..which means you go nowhere. You can actually be un-doing all the work that you have been putting effort toward. Stress raises cortisol levels, blood pressure and all kinds of other nasty things that can throw your entire body for a loop and most of all, do damage to your heart.

Workouts can help you destress but I emphasize that you need to find some outlet that allows your body to completely relax. Taking 10-20 min’s to yourself is imperative. When you live under stressful conditions, even your sleep is affected. Make sure you’re getting 8-10 hours of sleep. If you wake up still tired, you probably need more.

One of the things that has really helped me is a casual walk just before bed, or even a yoga class. Stretching and focusing your breathing is an excellent way to regenerate your body. So find your center and RELAX! 🙂

Leave a Reply

et cetera
